I’m Having a Bad Day

detroit rockMy travel experience went from 0 to 8.5 in about two months time. I find a special kind of happy when I’m lugging my baggage and frantically running to my gate. So far, I really like these chaotic things happening now. But today, I am having a bad day. Last night, I left my warm apartment in Seattle at 10:00pm. Then, I  took a plane to Detroit and held my eyes open from 6am until 9am. At 11:30am, they alerted us cranky few that the flight was canceled due to mechanical issues. Many were moaning and complaining and saying, “ARE YOU SERIOUS?” One of those public instances where people bond through negative experiences. I do not like!

For all we know, the plane could have blown up into tiny pieces. We’re lucky that it was canceled. However, I am very much-needed in Evansville, Indiana tonight. I’ve accepted this is not going to happen. After helping organize a Startup Weekend in my hometown for the past 6 months, I will miss opening night. Womp womp.

I was shuttled to a creepy hotel where I watched the Beyoncé documentary and had a piece of pizza. I was just accepting the situation. Then, after some badgering from friends, I called Delta back and insisted they put me on a different flight. So, here I sit once again in the Detroit Airport. It’s cold, I’m cranky, & my usually perky demeanor is somewhere on the floor of that hotel. My next flight leaves in an hour where it promises to take me to Chicago. I’m hoping for a smooth transition but who knows. Things are going to happen as they should. I really do not have any control over it. Flights are great experience for control freaks such as myself. We have to let go and trust the fine folks behind the desks and phones will just get us to our destination.

I plan to make it to Evansville sometime tonight. I hope it happens. I have looked forward to this weekend for months and hate to miss our event Skype Steve Blank. Friday night of every Startup Weekend usually sets the tone and pace for the entire weekend. Luckily, the organizing team is phenomenal and they will be just fine without me.

Cheers to this bad day. It’ll pass and soon I’ll be in my hometown at the very event that changed my life in the first place. I’m going to throw on some Bob Marley and ride out this day.

Leave a Reply

