The Power of Community Management: Seattle Art Museum

The name being used for “the people behind Facebook & Twitter accounts” is community manager. These are the people tweeting you from your favorite brand. Sometimes, they are an actual part of the brand and sometimes they are not. However, it is rare that I am actually wowed by a brand’s social media engagement. It is rare that I feel as if I can consider a brand my friend. With that being said, I want you to meet the Seattle Art Museum. 

I began tweeting them during my recent trip to Seattle. Currently, they have an awesome exhibition focusing on female artists that features an original Frida Kahlo piece! I am a Frida fantastic. However, I will not be able to make it back in time to see it. The SAM organization has used their social media fanbase like no other. So, what are they doing right?

Recently, they even helped me strategize my next trip up there. I literally feel as if I have friends at the Seattle Art Museum. I’ve never met anyone there. I’ve never even been there. But, I tell you what, I cannot wait to go. Their user engagement has created an even higher level of urgency in my mind. I want to be there now.

1. They always, always reply to a tweet.

2. They remember you.

3. They are funny and personable.

4. They know their audience.

5. Of course they want to get you to their site, but they want to help you get there.

The Seattle Art Museum is a perfect, stylish example of how brands are doing social media right. They are not trying to be what they are not. They are just being themselves. When boardrooms discuss the ROI of social media (ugh) they tend to forget the personalization that comes with it. While my one ticket into the museum may not be a huge ROI it is still revenue they did not have before. I have a feeling I am not the only one out there who has become intrigued by The Seattle Art Museum’s online engagement.

Therefore, ROI has undoubtedly been achieved.

Follow them on Twitter to find out for yourself! @iheartSAM

Leave a Reply

