I’m not obsessed. I’m driven.

I know many of you are struggling in a startup or perhaps struggling at work. Your family and friends never understand why you reply to emails at 6:45am.  A co-worker makes a crack at your open Twitter feed and laughs.  Little do they know, you just booked a TEDx talk because of it.  Some may see your constant use of electronics as a way to avoid real conversations.  That may be true for some.  But for me and probably for others, we’re building.  When you are passionate about a project or job or idea…there are no work hours.  There are only 24 hours in each day and half of those are meant to be put towards sleep.  Those involved in up and coming companies or maybe just surviving college or maybe all of the above; I commend you.  I know it’s not easy because I’m doing it right now. I should be giving myself time for rest but I’m not.

I have put myself on the bottom of my To-Do list for far too long, and I don’t mean that in a dirty way.  I mean I am so involved in so many projects and planned events and group emails that sometimes I loudly scream and cry, “LEAVE ME ALONE!” at multiple screens.

A recent conversation with my mother just inspired the hell out of me.  Along with her usual metaphors that I tend to use myself, she used a perfect one tonight.  The whole “light at the end of the tunnel” metaphor that we all know.

For me, the tunnel is rather dark right now and it’s getting musty.  The air is thick and it’s hard to breath.  But I know, with every atom in my body that the damn light is there.  I can see a sparkle out there just gleaming.  It won’t come to me but I am on my way to it.  In some ways, I am half way there but where is “there” really? I don’t know.  But, I’ve been told its very bright.  I suppose the only way to find out is to keep crawling, running, or stumbling until I find out.

Until then, I’ll keep building and continue to dive head first into anything my name is attached to.  It’s the only way I know.  Don’t let someone demean you for working hard. Hard work doesn’t stop after 5pm and it sure as hell isn’t going to get solved via traditional methods of communication.

“Obsessed is just a word the lazy use to describe dedicated.” -I don’t know who said this but I feel like I need to meet them.

Leave a Reply

